Reviews

 

  Latest Laterooms Reviews as of Feb 2012
 
Guest rating scores since January 2011 
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews

96% recommended this accommodation to a friend

95% would stay again

Gluten free food!
Although not advertised as such - the chef made my meal gluten free and it was brilliant!

 

                  Reviewed by
                        N Jones

                  From Looe, England
                   Who stayed in January 2012

                          Couple

Would stay again.
An excellent choice. I've stayed in hotels that charged twice the price yet offered half the quality and service. Fantastic service, friendly staff and cosy log fire in the bar/lounge area.

Room was excellent and the food to die for. Have the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast.

 

      Reviewed by
        Andy S

      From England
      Who stayed in January 2012

         Travelling alone

Second Visit
This time we had a different room, but although it was a little more compact and was above the kitchen we found that there was no inconvenience at all.

The owners and staff greet you well and look after you with the air of nothing is a bother.

 

           Reviewed by
               Michael B

            From St Albans, England
            Who stayed in December 2011

                 Couple

Fantastic Stay
From the moment we were greeted by Chris on the car park to booking out the whole place was very friendly.

The rooms were clean and spacious, the food excellent and the staff extremely helpful. A bonus was the Beatles tribute band on the Saturday night.

 

                 Reviewed by
                       David Hill

                  From Congleton, England
                  Who stayed in November 2011

                         Couple

Just Brilliant
Welcome 10/10      Room 12/10      Food (including service) 11/10  No negative comments whatsoever
You will not be disappointed staying here   
  

Reviewed by   Gerald P        From England         Who stayed in November 2011  Couple

Latest Trip Advisor Reviews as of Feb 2012;

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 17 January 2012

We popped in for a quick drink, the barmaid was so welcoming and polite, a nice warm fire and friendly locals. Service was excellent and the pub roomy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Ask Philly353 about Thatched Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
 
motorhomeman
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 9 January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed here for 3 nights and it was first class, great food, lovely staff well worth considering if you need to stay in this area. More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
motorhomeman
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 9 January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed here for 3 nights and it was first class, great food, lovely staff well worth considering if you need to stay in this area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Ask motorhomeman about Thatched Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
 
Westings
SW England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews
1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 January 2012

We called in on spec at lunchtime on New Year's Day. We were immediately welcomed by the owner who assured that lunch was being served and handed us the menu. The 'Sunday lunch' option turned out to be a great choice - tasty and very plentiful. The meat was delicious and very tender; the accompanying vegetables appeared to be freshly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Westings
SW England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews
1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 January 2012

We called in on spec at lunchtime on New Year's Day. We were immediately welcomed by the owner who assured that lunch was being served and handed us the menu. The 'Sunday lunch' option turned out to be a great choice - tasty and very plentiful. The meat was delicious and very tender; the accompanying vegetables appeared to be freshly cooked. The waiting staff were attentive and courteous. We would not hesitate to recommend it to others and will certainly be returning in the near future. Admittedly it was not atall busy so cannot judge what it would be like if they had a full house, I suspect there might be a bit of a wait!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Ask Westings about Thatched Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
 
watties57
yateley
Reviewer
5 reviews
3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed Fri 2nd Dec,whilst on christmas shop binge in Somerset. Staff friendly and helpful.Room very good,comfortable,clean and everthing worked. Location is on a fairly busy junction and room was near stairwell up from the entrance and bar area,so thought it could potentially be a bit noisy,but not at all ...slept fine. Food in restuarant was very good,we did have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
watties57
yateley
Reviewer
5 reviews
3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed Fri 2nd Dec,whilst on christmas shop binge in Somerset.
Staff friendly and helpful.Room very good,comfortable,clean and everthing worked.
Location is on a fairly busy junction and room was near stairwell up from the entrance and bar area,so thought it could potentially be a bit noisy,but not at all ...slept fine.
Food in restuarant was very good,we did have a delay getting our table,which one or two others customers got het up about,but as there were Christmas do,s going on in the restuarant,it was not that surprising .Breakfast also good.For what we paid,felt it was good value

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Ask watties57 about Thatched Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
 
marc r
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 30 November 2011

Having arranged a family "get together" at short notice, both Chris and Clare ( the owners ) were very attentative to my needs for the day . The rooms ......the food......the value for money.....this hotel is a little gem . More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
marc r
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 30 November 2011

Having arranged a family "get together" at short notice, both Chris and Clare ( the owners ) were very attentative to my needs for the day . The rooms ......the food......the value for money.....this hotel is a little gem .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Ask marc r about Thatched Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive118
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 14 November 2011

Myself my husband sister brother in law mam & dad stayed here was really lovely Staff food & rooms More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Olive118
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 14 November 2011

Myself my husband sister brother in law mam & dad stayed here was really lovely Staff food & rooms

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Ask Olive118 about Thatched Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee W
Cornwall
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at here for one night following a family trip to nearby Longleat. It is a small, very welcoming, family friendly hotel. The family room was a great size with a large bathroom. We had dinner and breakfast during our stay and both were very impressive. The only negative was that we did have a bit of traffic noise in our room but it wasn't a problem and it was only me who noticed it! The cosy bar area was so inviting with very friendly staff and log fires. I wouldn't hesitate in returning there in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Ask Aimee W about Thatched Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek A
Leicester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed for family celebration - 90th birthday lunch - we had a private room which was iideal for the younger children. The food was very good and the service first class. The staff were most polite and extremely helpful . Our bedrooms were most comforatble. We considered the stay be be good value and would certainly return and recommend the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Derek A
Leicester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed for family celebration - 90th birthday lunch - we had a private room which was iideal for the younger children. The food was very good and the service first class. The staff were most polite and extremely helpful . Our bedrooms were most comforatble. We considered the stay be be good value and would certainly return and recommend the Hotel and restaurant to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Ask Derek A about Thatched Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M
Warfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed here for a nearby wedding we attended. Lovely little place, suited our needs perfectly! (i.e. somewhere to sleep and get changed). Arrived late friday night after a really long journey and gasping for a drink. Was pretty tired and incapable of deciding on a wine, so the barman (who might also be the owner) gave me a few to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Problem with this review?
Michelle M
Warfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed here for a nearby wedding we attended. Lovely little place, suited our needs perfectly! (i.e. somewhere to sleep and get changed). Arrived late friday night after a really long journey and gasping for a drink. Was pretty tired and incapable of deciding on a wine, so the barman (who might also be the owner) gave me a few to try. No big deal really, but just a nice touch after a long drive and it eased me into the pre-wedding celebrations. And even though the kitchen was closed, I was also offered something to eat (I'd not had dinner) which was very thoughtful.

We officially checked out Sunday morning but we used the Cottage as a base for the day to go off and see friends and stroll up Glastonbury Torr, we returned to the cottage several times that day for drinks/food. Great spot to return to and sit outside, probably helped by the amazing sunshine that weekend!

Shepton Mallet itself doesn't really have anything offer but the Thatched Cottage was convenient for where we needed to be. Would recommend to anyone attending a wedding/event at Kilver Court (which is walking distance & has the most stunning gardens; amazing setting for a wedding). We received a group discount on our room rate though, not sure what the normal rate would be, but I wouldn't want to pay much more if I'm honest. Overall, a very comfortable & pleasant stay, clean bright bedrooms, wooden beams and cosy feeling... Great breakfast too. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

      

 

Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest deals and information



make a booking
Reviews
AA starsEngland Quality Rose